It’s tough to be Content

Thoughts from my sermonizing this week!

I’m preaching from Philippians 4:10-20, specifically 4:13 which says “I can do all things through him who strengthens me” In the verses immediately prior, Paul talks about being content  in wealth or poverty, in hunger or in being full. His contentment does not come from the situations around him,but rather comes from a source that has nothing to do with circumstances – God in Christ Jesus.(oh, by the way, Paul was probably in prison when he was writing these words!)

One commentator I looked at today, made the following point. This passage does not mean that we can do ALL things with the strength of Christ, but rather we can ENDURE all things through the strength of Christ.

This is one of the many scriptures that I classify as “Easier said than done!”  To learn how to be content at all times and in all situations can be incredibly difficult. To be content in Christ means to put God first and then our striving, not the other way around (which is our typical human response)

One remark that popped in to my head while reading this passage – “I would love to try being content while wealthy”  Please Lord, let me try being well off and prove to you how content I can be. While we might say this jokingly, a lot of times, there is more than a little truth in the statement. Paul recognizes the temptation that lies with wealth and strives to place his trust in something that will not rust and thieves will not steal.

On the other side of the coin, poverty has it’s own issues which can take our focus away from God.

To be truly content in God and His will for our lives is to put our faith and trust in God in ALL situations (good and bad) and know that God will take care of you. For me, the tough part is fighting my human tendency to do it myself.  Oh Lord, help me to truly believe and live out “I can do all things through him who strengthens me”

Have a blessed day.

 

Leave a Reply

