What does Transformation look like in my life?

My message this Sunday is from Romans 12:2

NLT “Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think, then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect

To be conformed to anything means to fit into a mold that was made for you. Conforming is easy and comfortable and is often what we do when we don’t think about what we are doing.
Being conformed to the world around me means not rocking the boat. No standing out in the crowd. No swimming up stream. Doing what everyone else does. Even when we try to be different, we gravitate towards others who are different like me and we conform to their new normal.
To be transformed by God is to allow His Word and His will to work on not only my outward habits, but to begin working on what I think about, what I dream about and what I work for. To be transformed by God is to constantly be thinking What Would Jesus Do? and What Would Jesus Have Me Do?
To be transformed by the renewing of your mind is to adopt a new way of thinking, a new way of examining your world. It means when you think about work, bills, your relationship with your family, cutting the grass, and all the other everyday thought of life – you add a new element to that thinking. God is invited into the conversation and you find yourself changing.
So I ask the question in a different way. How is God going to transform my life today?

Leave a Reply

